Posted by: JennyRain | April 24, 2009

The Father’s Faithfulness

Ok so today has found me ridiculously distracted… it has taken me two hours to read seven sentences! I’m sure some of my distraction is anxiety and excitement about my move back to DC, some of it perhaps because I am getting married in less than thirty-six days (but who is counting!), and probably some because I start my new job in a little over a week and it is a job I have prayed about for ten years – and I want to do well.

It is an amazing time really… very exciting… and nerve-wrecking too when I think about all that I “have” to do to “ensure” things go “as planned.”

As if we have any control over things really…at least that is what I am reminded of by today’s devotional… Psalm 107 took on brand new meaning when I read it from the context of the last five years of my life.

 

Let the redeemed of the Lord say so (that is us!!) whom He has redeemed from the hand of the enemy and gathered out of the lands from the north and from the south. 

They wandered in the wilderness in a desolate way; they found no city to dwell in (Ahhhh, Greensboro, GA, I shall never forget you oh Greensboro!)

Hungry and thirsty, their soul fainted in them. Then they cried out to the Lord … and delivered them… He led them forth by the right way that they might go to a city for a dwelling place (I love the Lord’s sense of humor = )

 

I am careful to filter text written before the time of Christ through my own life, or appropriate what was being said to my circumstances, however, this caused me to chuckle a bit this morning. It also served as a reminder that it has been God who has been doing all of the moving, and God who will continue to move me. And in that Truth I find peace.

Leave a Reply

Categories

