Posted by: JennyRain | April 21, 2009

Socially Dislocated

I woke up this morning not knowing where I was, how long I had been there, or where I was supposed to go next! Friends are calling me and the first question they are asking is:

“Ok, so where are you today?”

Am I in VA or GA? How long will I be here, or there, or wherever I am? When is your last day here? When is your first day there? Is here, there, or is there, here? I’m so confused…Even if I could socially locate myself, mental location is a whole ‘nother story.   

Truthfully, I’m beginning to feel like the verizon guy who travels from place to place and calls people to ask:

“can you hear me now?”

I sometimes wonder if that commercial is just one gigantic trick to sucker in those of us who suffer chronic fear of abandonment to sign up for the one network service that will keep us “connected” whether we are at the polar ice caps or tim-buck-two. Anyway… I digress, now where was I? Oh! Social dislocation… 

 

 

So last night my social dislocation caught up with me as I traveled and packed, and traveled and packed some more. Eventually the packing and traveling led to a complete meltdown. Bless his heart, John did not ask “the question,” you know the one, about that experience that only women enjoy. Nope, he called my mom and she asked “the question.” ahhhh, family 🙂

 

I have been in so many states in the last few months… GA, SC, NC, VA, DC, MD… from here to there and here again, trying to work through the preparations for marriage and ministry. Phew! It’s exhausting – worth it – and definitely exhausting. I’m trying to maintain friendship bonds with friends here (Georgia, that is) and re-establish and re-connect with friends there (Virginia, I mean).

 

At times it leaves me feeling a bit disconnected and scattered. I’m thankful for the One who can always find me, no matter where I am, and who can locate me – whether I consider myself to be lost or not. 

 

Starting from scratch, he made the entire human race and made the earth hospitable, with plenty of time and space for living so we could seek after God, and not just grope around in the dark but actually find him. He doesn’t play hide-and-seek with us. He’s not remote; he’s near. We live and move in him, can’t get away from him! Acts 17.27ish (The Message) 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

