Posted by: JennyRain | April 9, 2009

Worthy is the Lamb… Beauty in Surrender

For the last two weeks God has had me circulating around the story of Christ in the garden (Mark 14. 32-41) with His disciples. First I read it in a devotional, then two days later I opened my bible directly to it as I was looking for something else, then last Sunday, my pastor preached on it from the Gospel of Matthew 26.36-46.

The first part of my study focused on the disciples. How they failed Christ when He most needed them. How they fell asleep even when Jesus asked them more than once to stay awake with Him as He prayed. It struck me that Christ’s humanity reflected that He had a need for companionship and support from His friends.

So, I stayed on the outside of the garden for several days. Preferring to remain, perhaps asleep, with the disciples.

Then this weekend God invited me into the garden as my pastor preached on Surrender (my least favorite topic!) Pastor Lee showed us the humanity of Christ struggling with His own call to the cross and then related it to our own daily surrender as followers of Christ.

My own path this last few weeks has involved a great deal of change, required immense flexibility, and asked me to lay down my own carefully-constructed plans. Can I learn something from this passage perhaps? Pastor Lee shared that Christ’s example teaches us to:

1. Set down my plans.

Going a little farther, He fell facedown and prayed, “My Father! If it is possible, let this cup pass from Me. Yet not as I will, but as You will.”Matt 26:39 (HCSB)

2. Give up control.

Stay awake and pray, so that you won’t enter into temptation. The spirit is willing, but the flesh is weak.” Matt 26:41 (HCSB)

3. Leave the future to the Father.

But all this has happened so that the prophetic Scriptures would be fulfilled.” Then all the disciples deserted Him and ran away. Matt 26:56 (HCSB)

Leave a Reply

Categories

