Posted by: JennyRain | March 19, 2009

Leaving Worship. Finding Home.


My church home is family to me and when I am not here – I really miss it. My community of faith has encouraged me to find healing, restoration, peace, and joy. In this place, during this time, I have found my voice, and then my community has encouraged me to use it, and then they have listened! I will miss my weekly touch-point with fellow Lakesiders.

 Ten weeks. That is two-and-a-half months, approximately, or seventy-five days, or 1800 hours. Well, and subtract 8 hours from that total because I started blogging at nine a.m., but am now finishing at five p.m. But who’s counting?

But I will miss singing most, boy will I miss singing. I’m not sure if others will miss hearing me, but I will miss singing =) Georgia has taught me how to sing and I am so thankful.

 

For whatever reason, last night during praise team practice, it struck me that I am leaving Georgia in less than ten weeks (God-willing if all goes well with John’s ordination, getting approval from the Big Hats in VA, jobs settled, my house rented, and all that jazz).

No more chicken trucks. No more chew-spit in my garbage can. No more Kelly-fashions or high-pitched-perfect-E-flat laughs. No more eight a.m. roll-outta-bed-and-stumble-into-church-for-praise-team-practice. No more sweet tea. No more grits!

This place that I have called home for four-and-a-half years is soon to be only a place to visit. This place that I have struggled with, resented, laughed, cried, and bumped into on more than one occasion wondering “how on earth did I end up in Georgia!?!” will soon not be where I live anymore.

I am not sure what made me think of this last night. Maybe the joy I feel every time I begin playing guitar and singing with the Praise Team. Or perhaps it’s the home that I have found with my community here at Lakeside Church.

 

Responses

  1. ok first of all youre moving to Virginia and we have grits and chew, you just have to know where to find it. Second, you will still sing and play when you get here. I know it. And finally I suggest a title revision, youre not leaving worship but you are finding home. I love you and cant wait for you to be back!


Leave a Reply

Categories

