Posted by: JennyRain | September 1, 2006

Listen

Were I to try and listen
What is it that I would hear?
While I wander in the wilderness
Embraced by all my fears

Longing to connect with you
And feel your tender touch
But running from your draw
And the love I need so much

Your voice, it pierces through
The stubborn walls of guilt and shame
The fortress of fear around my heart
A castle yet unnamed

Love slips softly through my hands
A treasure once embraced
And there remains an opening
Where once your heart was placed.


© All writings copyrighted: Jenny 4.6. 2006

Are you listening?

Somewhere along the way our culture has stopped listening. We have stopped listening to each other and we have stopped listening to God.


So is it any surprise that our individual and collective spiritual journeys have been transformed into Sunday lectures presented by a preacher standing up on a pulpit rather than an interactive exploration and dialogue with the One who formed us?


When was the last time church really engaged your senses, your heart, your mind, and your Spirit and helped you to listen… from the deepest place of your being…to God?

“Are you tired? Worn out? Burned out on religion? Come to me. Get away with me and you’ll recover your life. I’ll show you how to take a real rest. Walk with me and work with me—watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace. I won’t lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you. Keep company with me and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly.” Jesus

How can they hear us if we don’t listen?


That is the title of one the books written by my Seminary professor, Dr. Ronald Johnson. He teaches Thursday night “church.” I have defined it as “church” rather than “class” because he is actively creating the opportunity for an interactive “listening session” between my Creator and my heart each Thursday night between 6 – 9 pm.


Dr. Johnson is helping me to understand why my generation is running from church. He asks questions of us like:
  1. What makes you believe that the community around your church cares about what you are saying?
  2. What makes you think that the community even knows you are there?
  3. What makes you think the community around you has abandoned their spiritual journeys? Perhaps they have just abandoned your “brand” of faith.

He also says things like:
“In all we do we better live as people who hear what God is saying in the moment to us. “

I think God is probably telling us to listen a lot more than those of us caught in the snare of Churchianity are willing to do. Listening looks a little like this….

See that? That’s blank space. It gives the community “air-time” so we can hear their voices. Perhaps they have stopped asking questions because we have stopped listening. (Johnson, R.W.)

Listen. You may be shocked to discover that the community around you is a whole lot closer to Jesus than they are to the door of your church.

Open the blind eyes, unlock the deaf ears, come to Your people
As we draw near
Touch our generation…we are your people

Jared Anderson… Hear us from Heaven

Responses

  1. Good thoughts, Jenny. Have we come to the point where we have to have God “our way”, though? How do we find the balance? More to struggle through, as always…

    Thanks for the b-day e-card, too, by the way.


Leave a Reply

Categories

