Posted by: JennyRain | August 5, 2006

Song 15

Last week I ran for 15 songs. Translated into treadmill time that is a little over 60 minutes and 6 miles.

If someone had told me in February that I would be able to run for a full hour without stopping I would have laughed at them. For you see, I have not historically been a runner, or any type of sports person for that matter. When I last decided to ‘take up running’ I rather resembled Phoebe on the TV show Friends… arms flailing, gasping for every breath, and bouncing off of anything within a 5 foot proximity to my faltering-foot-path. Even the trees cleared the way when they saw me coming. I was always the kid on the race team that could be counted on to take last place in any competition. I was, most decidedly, NOT a runner.

When I first began running in February of this year, I made it up one full hill and then had to stop because I had a cramp in my side, and was so oxygen-depleted I was seeing stars. One hill… that is less than 30 seconds… I probably could have walked it faster! But I kept running and soon one hill became two and then three. I discovered New Balance tennis shoes, streamlined from “CD-player-Bulky” to “Mp3-Lite”, and re-engineered my thinking process from a “I’m going to pass out if I run any further” mentality to a “I’m going to run 2 songs today” optimism. I began focusing on thankfulness for being given the ability and opportunity to run, rather than dreading how far I had to run that day. Three songs soon grew to four… then five… then seven… and last week to 15.

What is the “Song 15” in your life?

 
That place that you have been reaching after forever, that goal that is in the distance, the place that you can see… but not yet touch? Whatever your “Song 15” is… I want to encourage you to keep running until you reach it.

 

…Keep running when you think that you can not go one step further.
…Keep running when you have only run 3 songs the day before.
…Keep running when everything conspires against your opportunities to run.
…Keep running when your ankles are aching, and your toes are bruised, and your knees are swelling.
Just keep running.

 

Why?

Because there is a sweetness in reaching that “Song 15” that is incomparable… and you can only reach that place, and know what it feels like, if you actually get to “Song 15.”

Finish the race you have started and find your own personal “Song 15”… then find ways to keep on running. You may even have a marathon in you that you did not know existed.

My personal Song 15? Africa… I’ll keep running until I get there… God willing.

See you on the path!

 

This is the only race worth running. I’ve run hard right to
the finish, believed all the way. All that’s left now is the shouting—God’s applause! (2 Tim 4:6-7 MSG)
 

 

 

Responses

  1. Congratulations! Good work… and good application. I’ll have to think about that one.

  2. Congratulation!!! I’m truly impressed. Excellent application as well.

  3. You go girl! I admire anyone who takes on new physcial challenges, especially as I get older and feel the aches and pains more.
    Question – where do you get your incredible photos?
    melanie

  4. Hi Jenny,
    Got it figured out! Loved your new blog and thought of the Timothy verse as I was reading the message:)
    Love, mom


Leave a Reply

Categories

