Posted by: JennyRain | July 3, 2006

Following the Rainmaker

If you follow the path of the storm, you will discover the Rainmaker…

One day Jesus said to His disciples, “Let’s go over to the other side of the lake.” So they got into a boat and set out. As they sailed, He fell asleep. A squall came down on the lake, so that the boat was being swamped, and they were in great danger.

I was born into a storm. Each year my father recounts the story of the horrible storm that marked my birth. I have heard the story 35 times. Every significant event in my life has been baptized by water. Sometimes the water is gentle, sometimes fierce, but always present. It has been a trail-marker for my life’s journey, sometimes shifting forms, but always constant. I have lived my life on a boat at sea.

In fear and amazement, they asked one another, “Who is this? he commands even the winds and the water, and they obey Him!”

Jesus sent His disciples into the storm, and He still sends us today. Is it possible that in the storm Jesus wanted the disciples to come face to face with a side of themselves that they did not know needed His touch and healing voice? Perhaps our storms come not from an inability to hear Jesus, but an inconceivability of what still remains unspoken to in our hearts. It is in this boat we learn to listen for the Truth rather than focus on the facts.

It is in the storm that our masks come off and we learn who we are and who Christ is. I have stopped asking Jesus to pull me out of the storms. I ask instead for Him to make me fruitful within them. I have learned not only to burrow deeper during the storms but to reach up and grow taller to catch the raindrops. I am one of the rare brides that prays for rain on her wedding day to know she has been kissed by the sprinkling of the heavens.

As I face this next leg of my voyage… a voyage that seems to be sailing straight into the heart of Africa… I do so knowing that I will face storms…trials…and tribulations. But I also know there will be joy unspeakable, opportunities beyond what I could ever imagine or dream, and an adventure unparalleled by anything I’ve experienced. So I chase the storms with abandon… because I know the Rainmaker who has created them.

It is said that an eagle will fly directly into the eye of a storm, allowing the wind currents to raise it to higher heights. It is said that only a storm has the power to lift the eagle to its majestic heights of soaring. Just for this day, I choose the storm…because it has taught me to fly.

Share

Responses

  1. What a gift you are in my life! Your writing is so expressive and you can actually communicate that which is in your soul. I appreciate your willingness to share. Love you!

  2. You are my hero. I am amazed by you. I learn so much from you. Love you!

    Jill

  3. Hi Jenny, before I write more I’m checking to see if this works. I cried when I read your blog! melanie

  4. Bjr: This is the one I could get up that first time I pulled your site up. It fits your spirit and makes your eagle so logical. Love, mom


Leave a Reply

Categories

